COMPLETE ENGLISH VERSION COMING SOON

Launch of season two of the series Connaissance du cinéma

  • On 6 December 2018

TECHNÈS invites you to explore the second season of the educational series Connaissance du cinéma. Conceived and hosted by André Habib, professor in the Département d’histoire de l’art et d’études cinématographiques of the Université de Montréal, the series is produced by TECHNÈS and the Faculté des arts et des sciences of the Université de Montréal. The new season of Connaissance du cinéma began to be broadcast on Canal Savoir on 6 February 2018

The series, made up of six episodes 27 minutes in length each, plunges to the heart of film technology and brings together working professionals from the film world writ large. Unlike the first season, in which professionals of different generations were filmed, for season two of Connaissance du cinéma it was decided to seek out “tandem professions”, focusing on duos working in complementary professions. The format of each episode remains that of a “practical lesson” followed by a discussion involving the equipment in the form of a demonstration. The goal of the series is to demystify cinema’s underlying technological, material and practical elements and thus to enable curious members of the public to discover various aspects of film technologies and techniques.

Discover the trailer for season two of Connaissance du cinéma

Download the release of Connaissance du cinéma for more information

Episode details, guests and broadcast dates for season two of Connaissance du cinéma on Canal Savoir. (Note that the series is in French.)

 

Film labs: From the photochemical to the digital

Guests: Jérôme Cloutier, colour timer with MELS, and Sara Mishara, director of photography.

Tuesday 20 March 2018 10:30 p.m.

Wednesday 21 March 2018 5:00 a.m.

Friday 23 March 2018 5:30 p.m.

Sunday 25 March 2018 12:30 p.m.

Sunday 25 March 2018 10:30 p.m.

Restoration

Guests: Marco de Blois, programmer-curator animated film at the Cinémathèque québécoise, Eloi Champagne, technical director of the animation studio of the English-language program at the NFB, and Sylvie Marie Fortier, principal colour timer at the NFB.

Tuesday 27 March 2018 10:30 p.m.

Wednesday 28 March 2018 5:00 a.m.

Friday 30 March 2018 5:30 p.m.

Sunday 01 April 2018 12:30 p.m.

Sunday 01 April 2018 10:30 p.m.

Animated film

Guests: Marcel Jean, director of the Cinémathèque québécoise, Michèle Lemieux, animated filmmaker, illustrator and professor at the UQAM École de design, and Julie Roy, executive producer at the animation studio of the French-language program of the NFB.

Friday 23 February 2018 5:30 p.m.

Sunday 25 February 2018 12:30 p.m.

Sunday 25 February 2018 10:30 p.m.

Tuesday 03 April 2018 10:30 p.m.

Wednesday 04 April 2018 5:00 a.m.

Friday 06 April 2018 5:30 p.m.

Sunday 08 April 2018 12:30 p.m.

Sunday 08 April 2018 10:30 p.m.

Experimental cinema

Guests: Charles-André Coderre, filmmaker, and Raphaël Demers, fab manager at the Fab Lab of the PEC and 3D performer.

Tuesday 27 February 2018 10:30 p.m.

Wednesday 28 February 2018 5:00 a.m.

Friday 02 March 2018 5:30 p.m.

Sunday 04 March 2018 12:30 p.m.

Sunday 04 March 2018 10:30 p.m.

 

Expanded cinema

Guests: Caroline Martel, filmmaker and documentary researcher, Robert Miniaci, founding president of Robert Film Services, and Philippe Spurrell, fonder and director of Cinéclub de Montréal/The Film Society.

Tuesday 06 March 2018 10:30 p.m.

Wednesday 07 March 2018 5:00 a.m.

Friday 09 March 2018 5:30 p.m.

Sunday 11 March 2018 12:30 p.m.

Sunday 11 March 2018 10:30 p.m.

New interactive cinema

Guests: Olivier Asselin, filmmaker and art historian, full professor in the Département d’histoire de l’art et d’études cinématographiques at the Université de Montréal, and Mathieu Dupont, director of technology at Miralupa Inc.

Tuesday 13 March 2018 10:30 p.m.

Wednesday 14 March 2018 5:00 a.m.

Friday 16 March 2018 5:30 p.m.

Sunday 18 March 2018 12:30 p.m.

Sunday 18 March 2018 10:30 p.m.

For more information

Series Trailer

Canal Savoir site

TECHNÈS site

Canal Savoir Facebook page

Connaissance du cinéma Facebook page

TECHNÈS Facebook page